Thursday, October 14

Alphones Chickens Out!

I contacted my buddy Alfons down in California to discuss our hikes in Nevada. We were supposed to hike Boundary Peak and then Mt. Charleston, both in the State of Nevada this month and then when my supervisor said that I needed to give him a 30 days notice, I suggested to Alfons to postpone the trip/hike to October but he chikened out! 
He indicated the cold and his lack of ability to do a hike in winter. I was aware of that but since he's the one who always brings the vehicle(!) of need (a 4WD) and is a good company, I was hoping I could convince him this time as well! I really didn't care if he'd be able to reach the summit! Now that he has stepped back I'm left with a delimma! Should I stay or should I go? I'm not really worried about the trip cost. Neither I am worried about the ricks on the mountains. What makes me think twice about a trip of such is the stupid restrictions that the US Government has still in place! I, as someone, who intends to do a non-essential trip, needs to be tested for COVID, within 72 hours before his flight and provides the result to be able to board. At the same time, it's said tha the US does not recognoze the mix-shots! So for me who had received AstraZeaneca as the first shot and then Pfizer as the second shot, I don't know what would happen to me, If I went to the airport!! 
Then there's this re-write of the exams in December, which I haven't registered for but i will. I was hoping to study some on the plane(!) because it's change of the environment that you need at times to encourage you to do what you have to do but I guess I have to drop the damn plan and think of another time. I even thought of doing Guadalupe Peak in western Texas, where we attempted the last time we were togethere and we didn't even go to the area(!) because of his stupidity. My plan was going to Albuquarque. through L. A. and from there drive down to Texas, do the hike, as they say October is a very good months for this hike and then drive east to Austin to see The Pika, if he's back and then go to Houton and fly back to Calgary. It would've beeb a wonderful trip if it was not this stupid Covid! But I don't think it will happen soon. 
(Photo: Alfons, my hiking buddy avoid our upcoming advantures out of fear for his life! His performance in the previous hikes was poor. refer to Telescope Peak trip and Flatiron Mountain trip posts)

Saturday, October 2

Too Much Unhealthy Fat

The company had a barbecue a few days ago. You know the usual: Burger, Hot Dog, Soda, and few side items. I didn't touch any of them! Too much crap that I don't need! Guys were asking me one after another if I had eaten! The answer was the same: I don't eat this kind of food! I have enough problems without eating this shit! There's no religious reason behind that. I believe religion is a law that is supposed to prevent you from derailing in your life. Not that stupid thing of don't eat this and don't eat that. That's a physician's or a dietitian's job! The fact that people don't eat Pork and Beef for religious reasons is stupid to me. I, in fact, eat port for spite! Not that I intend to jeopardize my health to mock or irritate people. I eat Pork once in a while and that's because it has too much damn fat! I bought a Ground Beef-Pork pack from a supermarket last week to make some meatballs. The result was not bad but look at the pot that I cooked in it in the above picture! I slightly took each and every meatball out and there was so much nasty grease left on the bottom! That is why Pork is avoided by me, most of the time not because of a stupid religion! Tenderloin and other lean parts are good of course and does not have more harm than Beef. I, in general don't eat that much any more. So I am not picky for eating a meal in a week. All I care about is a lean, fresh and, if possible, naturally grown meat, which is actually very hard to come by in today's world, in most places, particularly in North America(!) but I know Canada is much better than the US.
(Photo: My pot after cooking Beef-Pork meatball was covered in big lumps of fat!) 

Thursday, September 30

A Miserable Failure


I failed all three exams, that I wrote in one day, last week! I was close in two but what does it matter?! A fail is a fail! I know what my weaknesses are, not all of them of course and I'm going to re-write them all but the cost is too much. $139 + tax for each exam! This is the cost of stupid mistakes and laziness! I had time for each exam but if you don't know the right answer and have not studied well enough, plus you have been away from the right work for too long, the extra time means nothing! 
$437.85 plus the day that I will probably have to take plus the cost of gasoline! This is the total cost of stupidity! Not to mention the price that I will probably have to pay for any reference materail, although I have many! Having references is not important. Having a good plan and executing that is!
(Photo: No arrow even hit the target circle! Can I use this as the way I scored in my exams? It actually is not like. I gained the scores but not the wining scores! So if there were arrows landed in dark blue or blue sections, it would be a good photo depecting what actually happened)

Wednesday, September 29

An Interview for 21 in 2021!

I had my first face-to-face interview of 2021 in the last days of September. This guy was first unresponsive to my reply and then when I sent him the question of when-what time, he scheduled an interview and then rescheduled it. No problem. I went on time. Here was a young Caucasian fella, who, I found out later ,has the same surname as the company's CEO! He could be his son! With all of the information available these days on the Internet, I also found out that he graduated from a low ranking school in North America which I am not going to name here! 
It doesn't matter how hard you work throughout your life. If you're the son of a CEO, or a close relative with the same surname, graduated from an unknown(!) school, you can simply be a manager(!) and that's what he is. The interview took about half an hour and he was the only one attending. The job would be in Calgary and they offered me $21 an hour! I said that was fine because I'm hoping that I can get myself out of this toilet that I'm stuck in, at the moment. He didn't ask many technical question because he's not very technical himself! His questions were very general: Have you done this? Do you know that? When I mentioned two major welding standards, he seemed like he heard them for the first time but that is okay because they're not a welding-based manufacturer. He didn't even mention anything about ISO 9001:2015 while the company's website indicated that they're a registered company. I guess his main concern was the ability of the candidate to be able to cover all of their needs, time-wise! 
I saw he had a bunch of resumes on his clip board and he has been the only one whom I saw reading interview questions from a paper! That was interesting. I only have seen that in Government jobs but taking his age into account, it is okay. 
(Photo: My interviewer was not as attractive of this but I think my chance is not bad! Not that these two have anything to do together!)

Sunday, September 26

CFLRS Notes (44): The Chinese Psychologist!

There's a big population of the Chinese in CAF! In fact the Chinese are the second largest race in the Canadian Armed Forces after the Anglo Caucasians. The third place belongs to Franco Caucasians.  The term " the " was used because by Chinese I means the Chinese how are born here in Canada or lived in Canada long enough to become a Canadian citizen and you know that once you're a Chinese who is a Canadian citizen, you can't have a Chinese passport and if you intend to go to China, you'd need to apply for visa. The Chinese Government does not recognize dual citizenship. 
I'm not sure if the Government of Canada is concerned about the number of the Chinese in their armed forces or not but with all these stories about China spying on everything, looks like they should! It's been four  years now that I was honorably discharged from the forces, based on my request, but as far as I remember there were as many as 3 Chinese in the two platoons that I served. The first one had a Chinese old man and Chinese pretty young girl. The man somehow got ill and ended up in a hospital outside the school and I never saw him. The girl, I'd assume, graduated.
We got an ugly stuttering Chinese girl in the second platoon that once, I can't recall, said that she was a graduate of psychology. We all know what that means: No degree related job, particularly for a mumbling, short, ugly Chinese girl. No disrespect but that's true. During some physical training we had to run a number of obstacles including a monkey bar. When it was her turn, she went 1/3 of the distance and couldn't hold it anymore and landed on her neck! It was beautiful scene, I'm not going to lie! She had difficulty standing up and looked like she wanted to burst into tears but somehow controlled herself! 
I don't remember what happened to her, after that. Unpleasant people are not important to be remembered! The only reason why she came back in mind was the scene, the beautiful scene(!), that she was about to break her neck! Going to CFLRS was one of my life's mistakes because I did that late. I would've had a better chance if I had started the first time I wanted and that was 2010 but I refused to go because I got married. It's useless to talk about the past now. I'm just learning from my mistakes but I know for sure that it was a right decision not to pursue a career with CAF. If you think it's for you, go ahead. Enjoy your career.
(Photo: For the ones who don't know, this is what monkey bar is. You'd need to hang, change your hands and move forward. The only difference between this photo and what we had in CFLRS is that there was no water or it'd have been much more interesting!)

Saturday, September 25

Workplace Stories (23): Lunch & Learn

The horrifying(!) memories of mine from the time I worked for the so-called engineering company will probably never leave me. The animals that I saw there and had to work with are amongst the worst that I've ever seen in my life either here in Canada or in the old country.
Incompetent, stupid, pretentious, rude, belligerent(!), inconsiderate, racist, self-centered, you name it! They had it all. They were, the majority of them, would say at least 90% of them, graduates of 3rd ranked schools in Canada and anywhere else in world! Some didn't even had a degree! Lakehead University in Ontario was (and probably still is) amongst the contributors to this shitty company. There were many people, who had barely finished high school or had a degree from an unknown school, from former Eastern Block. The countries which are known European but are at the same level as Bangladesh, Burkina Faso and Bhutan! The only difference between them and the first one is Bangladesh's overpopulated! Otherwise they're as poor as the country but because they're " ATTACHED " to Europe, they think they're European! Bulgaria, Poland, Romania, former Yugoslavia and other shit-holes at that part of the world!  
With that in mind, there was this occasional even at the company that a group of employees (experts!) from different department would get together for something called " Lunch & Learn ". This was supposed to be a sort of self-learning/discussion group. Instead the motherfucker, nasty, cheap animals would order vomit-causing, cheap Pizza, start devouring(!) and bullshit each other! There was one particular motherfucker male whore whom I like to name here, Slobodan, who was the worst. A big ass-kisser to the Germans who would suck every cunt and dick to go up the ladder of success and that's what he had done! 
I was sitting to the head of our department during one of this disgusting get-together when the shit Pizza arrived. The 4th World Eastern Europeans(!) attacked and I was sitting back. The supervisor asked me if I would wanted a slice and I shock my head. I sat quietly and watched them getting that vomit-causing shit down and felt sorry for myself! The stupid thing is the meeting was called " Lunch and & Learn "!!! Not even " Learn & Lunch "!!! This proves how stupid those filthy animals were! Lunch was more important that learning! 
I felt sorry for myself that had to wait 5 years to get my immigration visa and then sit at the same table with motherfucker, nasty whores who just with a little lie and kissing a number of buts where at the same table! I wish I could kick every and each motherfucker animal in that room in the neck so hard that they would have to spend the rest of their filthy and nasty life on wheelchair and would never be able to walk a step ever again. Cheap, filthy animals are the worst and there're millions of them in Canada. I loathe you filthy cheap animals of Canada
(Photo: I, of course, cannot provide a photo of the cheap nasty shit [called pizza!] that those motherfucker Eastern European shitheads were devouring! Instead I have a photo of the vegetarian pizza that I made once. I made the crust from whole wheat floor and all you cans see is fresh vegetables. I also made the sauce using tomato paste and other ingredients. It was so delicious)